12BET Cricket News: Preview of the 2019-20 Big Bash League season


Cricket fans all over the world, Australia’s renowned professional men’s Twenty20 domestic cricket competition is back and will kick off its ninth edition in just few weeks. The 2019-20 Big Bash League season will renew another series of cricket actions coming this December 17 and will last until February 2020. Be the first to know about out latest promotions and exclusive rewards only for you. Plus, win extra if you register an account here at 12BET Sportsbook!

Melbourne Renegades are the reigning champions in the league as they clinched the 2018/19 Big Bash League title. Their title defense and the rest of the team’s hopes to lift the trophy will be tested in 61 action-packed T20 matches in the tournament. It is going to be a powerhouse season and the most star-studded in history of the Big Bash with AB De Villiers, Dale Steyn and potentially Andre Russell among the signings.

There will be a couple of interesting changes in the league that makes it more exciting. The length of this campaign has been shortened compared to that from the last term, while the number of matches would be increased from 59 to 61 from the previous season. Also, the teams will get a mid-innings break for the first time in the history of the league. Each inning will only have 1 time-out of 90 second and the batting team will be allowed to take this strategic break between Overs 7 and 13.

Another major change is the unlimited Super overs where points in the tied match of the league stage will be divided between the two teams. This multiple super overs only apply if a finals match ends in a tie. There will be changes on the format of the game as they revamped it to a five-team final, namely The Eliminator, The Qualifier, The Knock-Out, The Challenger and The Final.

Whereas, the top 2 teams playing a Qualifier match while the teams finishing 4th and 5th will battle in an Eliminator. Whoever wins in the Eliminator will face the 3rd placed team in the Knockout match, while the loser of the Qualifier will take on the winner of the Knockout to claim their spot in the Final.

There will still 8 teams be a total of 18 members per team. However, they can only have a maximum of 2 overseas players in the squad. Tom Curran, Jos Butler, Harry Gurney, Jofra Archer, and James Vince from England; Qais Ahmad, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and Zahir Khan from Afghanistan; and Chris Morris, AB de Villiers, and Dale Steyn from South Africa are the overseas players signed up by various BBL teams.

The Big Bash League (BBL) is an Australian professional Twenty20 cricket league, established in 2011 by Cricket Australia that replaced the previous competition, the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, and features eight city-based franchises. The tournament will kick-off with Brisbane Heat taking on Sydney Thunder in a home game. Be the first to know about our newest and exclusive promotions. Sign up now at 12BET, the trusted name in providing complete and accurate sports news, betting odds and more.

About Author