12BET India News: BCCI announces squads for Women’s T20 Challenge

12BET India News: BCCI announces squads for Women's T20 Challenge

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the squads for the Women’s T20 Challenge, a mini women’s IPL which is set to be held from November 4-9. Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj will be leading Supernovas, Trailblazers & Velocity, respectively.  The three-team tournament will be played in a round robin league format, along with the final.

Unfortunately, Australia’s world-conquering women’s cricketers will not feature in the IPL Challenge tournament due to travel restrictions caused by the coronavirus pandemic. Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Mithali Raj will captain the three sides in the competition, while Jemimah Rodrigues Deepti Sharma and Veda Krishnamurthy have been named as vice-captains.

Our Latest Cricket News: Steve Smith fined for slow over-rate against Mumbai Indians

Thailand’s Natthakan Chantham, who scored her country’s first Women’s T20 World Cup half-century, adds another feather to her cap as she will become the first Thai cricketer to feature in the tournament. All-rounders Deandra Dottin (West Indies) and Salma Khatun (Bangladesh) and left-arm England spinner Sophie Ecclestone are Trailblazers’ other three overseas players.

The teams will play each other once before the top two contests in the final a day before the IPL summit clash. The best of Indian women’s cricket will combine with some of the leading stars from England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh and New Zealand in a four-match tournament. The teams were picked by a selection committee, not via an auction. The full squads are as follows:

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Jemimah Rodrigues (Vice-captain), Chamari Athapaththu, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (WK), Shashikala Siriwardene, Poonam Yadav, Shakera Selman, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Ayushi Soni, Ayabonga Khaka, Muskan Malik

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (Captain), Deepti Sharma (Vice-captain), Punam Raut, Richa Ghosh, D. Hemalatha, Nuzhat Parween (WK), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Jhulan Goswami, Simaran Dil Bahadur, Salma Khatun, Sophie Ecclestone, Natthakan Chantham, Deandra Dottin, Kashvee Gautam

Velocity: Mithali Raj (Captain), Veda Krishnamurthy (Vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Sushma Verma (WK), Ekta Bisht, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Devika Vaidya, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Manali Dakshini, Leigh Kasperek, Danielle Wyatt, Sune Luus, Jahanara Alam, M. Anagha.

Exciting fixtures are underway along with 12BET India’s newest offering. If you are into predicting matches and winning teams, this is your chance to grab exciting prizes here at 12BET India’s IPL Ultimate Predictor. Turn your predictions to prizes while you enjoy winning with your favourite IPL team. For more info, visit us at 12BET India!

About Author