12BET India News: ICC announces qualification pathway for the Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia

12BET India News ICC announces qualification pathway for the Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia

Earlier this week, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the qualification process for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia which is set to take place in October and November 2022. As 2021 kicks-off, 86 different teams with the opportunity to fill the 15 World Cup spots – with hosts Australia already secured one – over a 13-month qualification campaign.

“With the return of cricket in early 2021, we will see 86 different teams with the opportunity to fill the 15 World Cup spots – with hosts Australia already securing one — over a 13-month qualification campaign,” the ICC said in a statement. There will also be several nations who will make a debut for the tournament that has been postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

“For the first time ever Hungary, Romania and Serbia will be competing for Men’s T20 World Cup qualification and Finland will play host to an ICC event for the very first time. In a festival of cricket it will also be the first time that Japan will host a Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier, on the back of the U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier they will host two weeks before,” the statement added.

The 15 spots in Australia will be decided through a four-step qualifying process which starts in April 2021. Meanwhile, 11 regional qualification events across 5 regions have been rescheduled to 2021, due to COVID-19 and will now feed into the 2022 Australia event. At the regional level, there will be 67 Associate Members taking part, said the ICC.

They also added that Africa, Americas, EAP and Europe will have one top tier regional qualifier and Asia will have A and B to determine which teams will progress into the two eight-team global qualifiers. The 16 available spots in the Global Qualifiers will be filled by one team each from the Africa and EAP Qualifier respectively. They will be joined by two teams each from the Americas and Europe qualifiers.

12BET India latest cricket news update: Domestic cricket to commence with Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy from January 10

Finally, Asia which has a Qualifier A and B will see one team from each event make up the eight spots from regional qualification. The remaining eight spots will go to the four bottom teams from the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 and together with Nepal, Singapore, UAE and Zimbabwe which have gained direct entry based on their MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings.

The 16 teams that had originally qualified for the 2020 Australia event will now play in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 in India. The participating teams for that event are Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

In July, the ICC confirmed that the tournament, due to take place between 18 October and 15 November, was postponed. The ICC had also announced earlier that the 2023 50-over men’s World Cup in India will move from February and March to October and November. This decision took two months before coming up with the final decision.

Stay safe and bet from home as offer exciting games that will bring luck to you. We at 12BET India has an alternative online betting games that you will enjoy while waiting for your favorite sporting event!  Visit us at 12BET India to find out how to ensure that your ventures will turn to winnings as we give you bonuses, rewards and promotions!

About Author