12BET India News: Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals to clinch fifth IPL

12BET India News: Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals to clinch fifth IPL

Mumbai Indians have successfully defended their Indian Premier League (IPL) title and clinched their fifth trophy after thrashing Delhi Capitals by five wickets in Tuesday’s final in Dubai. Brilliant hostile bowling led by Trent Boult took MI to victory, now the most successful team in IPL history, chased 157 with eight balls to spare as captain Rohit Sharma hit 68.

Boult took three for 30 as Mumbai’s bowlers take the lead for their comprehensive triumph by restricting Delhi to a below-par 156 for seven. Sharma smashed a breezy 68 and Ishan Kishan made 33 not out as they prevailed with eight balls to spare. Delhi, who played their maiden IPL final against MI, needed a strong start but were instead reeling at 22 for three in the fourth over.

Batting in their first-ever IPL final, Delhi Capitals were off to a poor start. They were reduced to 22/3 inside just five overs. However, a 96-run partnership between captain Shreyas Iyer (65 off 50) and Rishabh Pant (56 off 38) ensured a healthy total for their team. Defending a low total, South Africa pace bowler Kagiso Rabada could not prevent the Mumbai openers’ and conceded 18 from his first over.

You can also see our latest news about, Trailblazers beat Supernovas to clinch Women’s IPL Challenge trophy at here!

Chasing Delhi’s total of 156/7, Rohit smashed 68 runs off 51 balls. His innings propelled Mumbai to the winning total with nine balls to spare despite some late wickets in the last few overs. “I’m pretty happy with how things went,” Sharma said after the win. “We said at the beginning we want to make winning a habit for us and guys were excellent throughout the tournament. We couldn’t have asked much more.”

Meanwhile, wiith 15 titles now, Kieron Pollard achieved the milestone by overtaking his national teammate Dwayne Bravo, who has won 14 T20 titles so far. “Dwayne Bravo you are behind me now (about number of T20 titles), I have to say that on camera,” Pollard said after the match. West Indies all-rounder Pollard has become the most successful T20 cricketer with the most number of titles.

The big-hitting West Indies all-rounder has scored over 3,000 runs for Mumbai Indians. In 2020 season, Pollard scored 268 runs at a strike rate of 191.42, the most by any batsman this year. Pollard also said that the title win meant a lot to him and also termed Mumbai Indians as the best T20 team in the world at the moment. ““It’s a great feeling, means a lot. Fifth trophy…Have been here for 11 years,“ he said.

Stay safe and bet from home as offer exciting games that will bring luck to you. We at 12BET India has an alternative online betting games that you will enjoy while waiting for your favourite sporting event!  Visit us at 12BET India to find out how to ensure that your ventures will turn to winnings as we give you bonuses, rewards and promotions!

About Author