BCCI opens bid for 2 new IPL teams for 2022

BCCI opens bid for 2 new IPL teams for 2022

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has officially opened the release of tender to own and operate the additional Indian Premier League (IPL) team from the 2022 season. In the announced, BCCI highlighted that Interested parties have time till October 5 to purchase the “Invitation to Tender” for Rs 10 lakh. Follow us to get the latest IPL 2021 updates and score IPL.

“The Governing Council of the IPL invites bids to acquire the right to own and operate 1 (one) of the 2 (two) new teams proposed to be introduced to take part in the Indian Premier League from the IPL 2022 season, through a tender process,” the statement said. The IPL only mention about one team available for bid and did not say when the competition for the second team would be launched.

“The detailed terms and conditions governing the submission and evaluation of bids including eligibility requirements, process for submissions of bids, proposed new teams’ rights, and obligations, etc. are contained in the ‘Invitation to Tender’ (“ITT”) which will be made available on receipt of payment of non-refundable fee of INR 10,00,000 (Rupees Ten Lakhs Only) plus any applicable Goods and Services Tax,” the statement added.

Earlier, a source from BCCI claim that the “BCCI is expecting anything in the range of 5000 crore if not more” if the bids go as per plan. “Any company can buy the bid document paying Rs 10 lakh. Earlier top brass was thinking about keeping the base price for two new teams at Rs 1700 crore but later it was decided to keep the base price at Rs 2000 crore,” a senior BCCI source told a news agency.

Meanwhile, the IPL 2021 UAE leg starts on September 19 with Chennai Super Kings taking on the Mumbai Indians in the first match. KKR and RCB play the next game. At the time the IPL was suspended in May, there were still 31 matches, including the four playoffs, left to be played. In all, 13 matches will be held in Dubai, 10 in Sharjah, and 8 in Abu Dhabi.

According to earlier reports, up to 30 percent fans could be allowed in the three stadiums – Sharjah, Dubai and Abu Dhabi – for the IPL Season 14 Phase-2. Before the postponement, Delhi Capitals cemented the top spot of the table with 6 wins from 8 games. They are followed by Chennai Super Kings with 5 wins from 2 games, RCB with 5 wins from 2 games.

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more


About Author