Cricket match preview: India Vs Australia 2020

Cricket match preview India Vs Australia 2020

Two powerhouse cricket teams will return in actions in in a short but intense three-match One-Day International series this January. Indian national cricket team will play their second series of the new year 2020 against Australia, the team that thrashed their powerhouse squad in a shocking 2-3 loss.

With Smith and Warner’s comeback and along with Pat Cummins, Australia is looking dangerous away from home and will surely give a serious challenge to the home team. Meanwhile, India’s Rohit Sharma will return after resting in the T20I series against Sri Lanka, but they will still be without the services of Hardik Pandya. Here’s everything you need to know about this much-awaited match:


This will be the 12TH bilateral series between India and Australia. Australia is leading 6-5, while in the previous 137 meetings, India have won 50 times against Australia’s 77.


India squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, Shivam Dube, Shreyas Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), K. L. Rahul, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (vc, wk), Pat Cummins (vc), Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, David Warner, Adam Zampa


Tuesday 14 January, Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai (First ODI)

Friday 17 January, Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Rajkot (Second ODI)

Sunday 19 January, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru (Third ODI)

FORM (most recent)


Won v West Indies at Barabati Stadium by 4 wickets

Won v West Indies at Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy Cricket Stadium by 107 runs

Lost v West Indies at MA Chidambaram Stadium by 8 wickets

Won v West Indies at Queen’s Park Oval by 6 wickets

Won v West Indies at Queen’s Park Oval by 59 runs


Lost v England at Edgbaston by 8 wickets

Lost v South Africa at Old Trafford by 10 runs

Won v New Zealand at Lord’s by 86 runs

Won v England at Lord’s by 64 runs

Won v Bangladesh at Trent Bridge by 48 runs

About Author