12BET India News: Women’s IPL to commence in UAE from November 4-9


With the Indian Premier League (IPL) successfully commended in the UAE, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have confirmed to a news portal that the Women’s T20 Challenge, a mini women’s IPL,  is set to be held from November 4-9. According to reports, the three-team tournament will be played in a round robin league format, along with the final.

A senior IPL official told a news portal, “The tournament date has been fixed. It will be played from November 4 to 9. There will be matches between the three teams Trailblazers, Velocity and Supernovas. A total of four matches will be played. “The final will be held on November 9 as we did not want to host it on the day of men’s finals.”

The BCCI official had also reportedly that as many as three teams will feature in T20 Challenge. The governing body announced last week a new selection committee for women’s cricket under the chairmanship of former spinner Neetu David, which will now elect the three teams. An official announcement from the BCCI is expected soon.

“There has not been any practice for the girls, so they will need some time to practice before taking the field,” one of the officials added. The teams will have more Indian cricketers this time around. Top players from Australia and England will be unavailable due to the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL). However, players from Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and South Africa are expected to participate.

Reports also claim that Women’s T20 Challenge will be held in the Gulf region from November 4 to 9 and similar treatment given as men’s IPL franchises will be observed. The Indian and overseas players who will touch down UAE by the third week of October will undergo a six-day quarantine at their respective and will be tested on day one, three, and five following their arrival at the team hotels.

The current IPL is being played across three venues – Dubai, Sharjah, and Abu Dhabi. According to the newly announced IPL 2020 time table, Dubai will host 24 games, Abu Dhabi will host 20 games while Sharjah will be hosting 12 games.  The league is broadcasted in several languages such as Hindi, Tamil, Kannada, Malayalam, Telugu, Bengali apart from English.

Exciting fixtures are underway along with 12BET India’s newest offering. If you are into predicting matches and winning teams, this is your chance to grab exciting prizes here at 12BET India’s IPL Ultimate Predictor. Turn your predictions to prizes while you enjoy winning with your favourite IPL team. For more info, visit us at 12BET India!

About Author