Cristiano Ronaldo Won Ballon d’Or Award for the Fourth Time

Cristiano Ronaldo

12BET (Football News) Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo gets to dethrone reigning Ballon d’Or winner Lionel Messi by winning the title this year. This will be the fourth time that he received such a prestigious award, while the Barcelona footballer got his fifth last year.

The Argentine forward was place in second while Antoine Griezmann settled for third in the total tally of votes.

Ronaldo’s achievement last year was undeniably at its finest as he was the game-changer in both the Spanish club and national team of Portugal. With him the Los Blancos gets to bag away the Champions League title, he also scored three goals in Euro 2016 wherein they are the crown as the champion.

He won the golden ball trophies in 2008, 2013, 2014 and 2016. The gaps on the said records have been snatch away by Messi.

The Portuguese winner was happy and proud as he dedicated the award to Real Madrid, Portugal’s national football team, and to all the people who trust him.

Meanwhile, Wales’s talisman Gareth Bale finished it on sixth. Jamie Vardy of Leicester City was the only English player who made it on 30-players shortlist and he gets to settle on the eight spot. Vardy was also joined by PFA Player of the Year Riyad Mahrez who was place on the seven, both of them have contributed in the success of the Foxes in Premier League.

It has been a tough fight between the Spanish La Liga players, with both of them having superb season last year.


Photo Credit:

About Author