India Announces Their Squad For The ODI Series Against South Africa

ODI series against South Africa

Following the conclusion of the current Twenty20 International series, India and South Africa will compete against one another in a One-Day International (ODI) series beginning on Thursday, October 6 at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced on its official Twitter account the members of the Indian team who will be competing.


Shikhar Dhawan, a veteran batsman, will lead the team in the One-Day International series, while Shreyas Iyer, a phenomenon in the middle order, will serve as his deputy captain. It is important to remember that the majority of the players who will be participating in the Twenty20 World Cup have been given the ODI series off.


While this is going on, Dhawan and Iyer will be hoping to make the most of this opportunity by scoring some valuable runs in the upcoming series. This is because the management of the Indian team and the selectors are looking forward to preparing a squad for the 50-over World Cup that will be held in India the following year.


While Dhawan is only picked for one-day internationals, Iyer did not get a spot on the Twenty20 World Cup roster even though he has played in a few matches in this year’s shortest format. In the meanwhile, players like Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill will be anxious to demonstrate their worth in the 50-over format.


At the same time, this would also be a good chance for Sanju Samson and Rahul Tripathi to let their bats do the talking, which would be a tremendous opportunity for both of them. Despite his high level of consistency in Twenty20 matches, Tripathi was not selected for the India XI this year. Instead, the team management decided to stick with Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik as their first-choice wicketkeeper-batsmen for the Asia Cup and the Twenty20 World Cup


In the meanwhile, players like Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar, Avesh Khan, and Mohammed Siraj are probably looking forward to getting some match practice before the major championship.


India’s squad for the ODI series against South Africa: Shikhar Dhawan (C), Shreyas Iyer (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubhman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar

For more cricket related news visit 12BET India.

About Author