IPL 2020 introduced new rules in the game


The Indian Premier League (IPL) governing council meeting discussed in a meeting took place last month about some major points and changes for IPL 2020. They have announced, later after the meeting, that there will be a couple of novel and intriguing changes in the rules of this year’s season of IPL.

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly announced that night matches will start at the same time at 8pm. This is in contrary to the earlier request of night matches changed from 8 pm to 7-7.30 pm. Ganguly also said that there will be five double headers (4 p.m. and 8 p.m.) this time.

“There will be no change in the timing of IPL night games. It will start at 8 pm like earlier years. We will have only five doubleheaders (4 pm and 8 pm) this time. We have decided to reduce the number of doubleheaders,” Ganguly told in the announcement.

He also announced that the 13th season of IPL will start on March 29, while the final of the tournament will be played on May 24 to be played both in Mumbai, the home ground of the defending champions Mumbai Indians. “We are doing the concussion substitute, the All Star Game and the final is in Mumbai,” Ganguly told reporters

For the first time in IPL, concussion substitutes have also been given the green signal. Under the new rule, a player who has been concussed either while batting, bowling or on the field, can be withdrawn from the game and be replaced subject to approval by the match referee. The match referee will decide if the replacement player is a like-for-like replacement of the injured player or not.

In August, new rules for concussion substitutes adopted by the International Cricket Council were used for the first time in test cricket. It was witnessed during the day 5 of the second Ashes at the Lord’s where Australia’s Steve Smith was substituted by Marnus Labuschagne.

In most recent incident, India’s Rishabh Pant had to leave the first ODI against Australia mid-match after being hit by a Pat Cummins bouncer in Mumbai. Meanwhile, another change in the rules is the no-ball. No-ball umpires will be in action and they will be the ones in charge of supervising no-balls. This rule took place recently during the ODI series between India and West Indies.

The cricket-governing body’s president also confirmed that former cricketers Madan Lal and Sulakshana Madhukar Naik will be there in the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC). “CAC has been finalized. The Secretary will release it officially. Sulakshana Naik and Madan Lal are there. Gautam (Gambhir) is not there,” Ganguly said.

Lastly, an IPL all-stars game will take place three days before the start of the competition for the first time in 13-years of the competition. The details of the venue and teams are yet to be decided. We have a lot of exciting promotions coming exclusively for you if you visit us and sign up now at 12BET, the trusted name in Indian online betting.

About Author