IPL 2020 to feature All-Star Match for the first time in Indian cricket


The new season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) offers some of the most exciting matchups, rivalries and comebacks. The much awaited of them all is the very first All-Star Match to debut for the first time in the 13-year history of the IPL.

This All-Star game is set to launch three days before the opening of the 13th edition of the annual series. BCCI president Sourav Ganguly and the chairman of the IPL governing council Brijesh Patel were the people behind the idea of this new offering of the prestigious cricket event.

“We have not decided the names of the teams for the All-Stars game but there will be a team of overseas players from the IPL. It will be an annual affair. We haven’t finalized the venue but it’s definitely not going to be Ahmedabad. The new stadium there is not ready yet,” Sourav Ganguly said.

The game will be a one-off fixture, featuring players from all the eight franchises. The two teams to inaugurate this exhibition game will be formed with players from four franchises in the north and east of India. This team might compose of players from Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Kolkata Knight Riders.

Meanwhile, the rest of the player will be taken from the west and south zone. This team might compose of players from Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. The details of the teams and proposed format for this one-time only exhibition game are yet to announced.

It is definitely going to be powerhouse face-off that will grace the cricket field for the first time and the strongest of them all after this spectacle will be written in the history of Indian cricket. It is likely that one of the teams will have MS Dhoni, David Warner, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli in one, while Ben Stokes, Steve Smith, Jofra Archer and KL Rahul will have the other.

Along with the announcement of this exhibition game are the new rules of the IPL. No-ball umpires will be in action and they will be the ones in charge of supervising no-balls. Also for the first time in IPL, concussion substitutes have also been given the green signal.

The start of the season of the league will be on March 29, while the final of the tournament will be played on May 24 to be played both in Mumbai, the home ground of the defending champions Mumbai Indians.

Be part of our biggest offers and promotions that you will surely enjoy. Sign up now because we have new and exciting deals that will match your lifestyle. It’s your time to be on top as you create your login account 12BET India now!

About Author