Madhya Pradesh beat Mumbai to win maiden Ranji Trophy title

Madhya Pradesh beat Mumbai to win maiden Ranji Trophy title

Madhya Pradesh (MP) down domestic powerhouse Mumbai by six wickets to win their maiden Ranji Trophy title at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Needing just 108 runs to become the champions of India’s premier domestic cricket competition, Chandrakant Pandit’s side chased down the target on Day 5 with more than a session to spare. Follow for more cricket match today updates!

“It is a great memory that I had left 23 years back and it is a blessing that I come back here, and winning this trophy was fabulous. It is emotional because I missed out as captain on the same ground,” said Pandit, who lost the Ranji Trophy final as Madhya Pradesh captain in 1998-99. Following the win, Pandit has now won his record sixth national title as a coach. Free betting online cricket here!

MP bagged a massive first innings win, with Shubham Sharma and Rajat Patidar scoring centuries in the first innings along with Yash Dubey. Kumar Kartikeya picked up four wickets as MP bowled Mumbai out for 269 on Day 5 before Patidar hit the winning run. Patidar finished as the highest run-getter for MP with 658 runs from six matches, while Kumar Kartikeya finished as the highest wicket-taker for the champions with 27 scalps from five games.

“Completely ecstatic,” MP captain Aditya Shrivastava said. ”Generation kind of time has gone by since MP has won the Ranji Trophy for the first time. It is the moment of a lifetime for me. The emotions are deep, we are trying to laugh it out but we are extremely emotional from the inside. This has been my first year as captain and whatever I know about leading a side is from Chandrakant Sir.

Shubham Sharma was awarded the Player of the Match award while Sarfaraz Khan is Player of the Series for scoring 982 runs in nine innings. Shams Mulani finished the campaign  as the leading wicket-taker of the tournament with 45 scalps. Ranji Trophy has had 4 first-time winners in the last 5 seasons as MP joined the likes of Saurashtra, Vidarbha and Gujarat.

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more.

About Author