MS Dhoni steps down as CSK captain ahead of IPL 2022

MS Dhoni steps down as CSK captain ahead of IPL 2022

Two days before the much-anticipated Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, MS Dhoni stepped down as captain of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and handed the position to lead the 4-time IPL champions to Ravindra Jadeja. Dhoni confirmed that he will not leave the defending champions and will carry on as a player from “this season and beyond”. We have the coverage for the upcoming IPL match.

“MS Dhoni has decided to hand over the leadership of Chennai Super Kings and picked Ravindra Jadeja to lead the team,” CSK said in a statement. “Jadeja, who has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2012, will only be the third player to lead CSK. Dhoni will continue to represent Chennai Super Kings this season and beyond,” the statement added.

Dhoni is the most celebrated Indian captain, leading the franchise to four IPL titles since the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008, making him the longest serving captain for any team in the league’s history. Under him, CSK became the first team to win back-to-back titles, while also helping them win two Champions League T20 trophies. Dhoni had already retired from international cricket in August 2020.

The 40-year-old played a total of 190 matches, accumulating 4,172 runs and 189 sixes with 137.50 strike rate and 21 half-centuries. He also made 108 catches and 323 stumpings. Meanwhile, Ravindra Jadeja will become only the third player to captain CSK after Dhoni and Suresh Raina. He has scored 1324 runs and picked up 90 wickets for CSK across eight seasons

“Feeling good but at the same time I need to fill in big boots,” said Jadeja in a video shared by CSK on twitter. “Like Mahi bhai has already set a big legacy and we need to carry it forward, so hopefully I will. And I don’t need to worry too much because he’s here and whatever question I need to ask, I’ll definitely go to him. He was my go to person and he still is today, so I’m not worried too much.”

The IPL 2022 season begins on March 26 with last year’s finalists Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders as the curtain-raiser at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. The 10-team tournament will compete in 70 matches across four venues in two Maharashtra cities, divided into two groups. CSK is the reigning champion, having won their fourth IPL title in the 2021 season.

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more.

About Author