Ten-team plans for IPL 2022 on hold after current season’s delay

Ten-team plans for IPL 2022 on hold after current season's delay

Following the unprecedented delay of the 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has also put on hold their plans of expanding the teams for the IPL 2022. Earlier, the Board reportedly set to launch two new teams with a mega auction scheduled for the 15th season next year. Follow us for more IPL 2021 highlights and updates.

“Time is not right to even talk about the new IPL teams at this stage. We have to first decide the way forward on the suspended season and then only decisions can be taken on the new teams for IPL 2022. No discussion in this regard is happening at this stage in the BCCI,” an anonymous official told a news agency. The official also added that they cannot give any timelines at the moment.

The two additional IPL teams is set to part of the competition from 2022, as the board plans to expand the cash-rich league into a ten-team affair for its 15th edition. The BCCI President Sourav Ganguly, secretary Jay Shah and other board members held a meeting in March to discuss plan of action for the new IPL teams.

A senior BCCI source informed about the development to a local news outlet saying that the new additional teams will undergo a bidding process in May right after completing the IPL table in 2021 to know if they can make it next year. “The 10 team IPL will roll on from next year and the bidding process and finalization of the new franchises will be completed by the month of May this year,” said the source.

Earlier, reports had suggested that the two new franchises could be one from Ahmedabad and the other from Kanpur.In 2011, the cash-rich tournament has ten teams with Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India played for that particular edition.  However, the very next season saw the termination of KTT following their breach of BCCI’s terms and conditions.

Earlier this month, the IPL 2021 has been postponed indefinitely after multiple players tested positive for the new string of coronavirus that currently crippling India. The BCCI is now looking for a window to complete the remaining 31 matches with offers from nations such as UAE, England, Australia, and Sri Lanka to host the remainder of the tournament.

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await for you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more