UAE to host Asia Cup 2022, confirms BCCI chief

UAE to host Asia Cup 2022, confirms BCCI chief

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) President Sourav Ganguly has confirmed that the Asia Cup 2022, originally set to be played in Sri Lanka, will be moved to the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Earlier, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) had informed the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) that the board will not be able to host the upcoming event following economic and political crisis in the country. Betting tips here!

During the meeting, the council discussed options for the 2022-23 season including the Asia Cup hosting. According to Ganguly’s pronouncement, it has been decided that UAE will host the event. “Asia Cup will be in UAE, as it is the only place where there won’t be rains,” Ganguly told reporters following the Board’s Apex Council meeting. Follow us for betting online cricket and more!

The move comes shortly after SLC postponed the third edition of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) due to the ongoing crisis in the country. The Asia Cup is scheduled to be held from August 27 to September 11 and will be played in the T20 format. The UAE has already hosted the previous edition of the tournament in 2018, where the 50-over format was played in Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

The T20 event, which was postponed in 2020 and 2021 due to COVID-19 pandemic, will feature six Asian teams including Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. The first phase of the tournament will see UAE, Singapore, Kuwait, and Hong Kong go head to head in a qualifier before they meet the cricket giants mentioned above in the main tournament.

In the previous edition of the Asia Cup, India won the title after defeating Bangladesh. India also holds the most number of Asia Cup wins, with seven trophies at hand. According to reports, India will be drawn in the same group as rivals Pakistan. It is going to be exciting to see India’s revenge after Pakistan beat them in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Meanwhile, the Apex Council meeting also discussed the schedule for the domestic season, with the Duleep Trophy set to kick-off the men’s senior season from September 8. The Board is also considering hosting the Irani Cup from October 1-5, while the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the Ranji Trophy will take place from the October-December window.

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more.

About Author